Futura And Wild One Take Home Honours At KZN Racing Awards

Futura And Wild One Take Home Honours At KZN Racing Awards

The winning connections of Wild One at the Gold Circle KZN Racing Awards, where he took home Champion Stayer.

In a repeat performance of the Equus Awards, KZN’s Futura and Wild One were both honoured at Gold Circle’s glitzy KZN Racing Awards, which took place last week Thursday at the Elangeni Hotel.

Judged on the past racing season of all horses that competed in KZN, it was a memorable and glamorous evening which opened with a fantastic surprise of Gold Circle’s Graeme Hawkins receiving the Anita Akal Special Award.

The first of KZN’s nominees, Futura – winner of the Gr1 Champions Cup during the KZN Champions Season received the Champion Middle Distance Award, with Susan and Chris Snaith on hand to accept the award on behalf of trainer Justin Snaith (pictured right).

Scott Bros’ Wild One was awarded Champion Stayer to owner Sean Phillips and jockey Anthony Delpech after the epic Gr1 eLan Gold Cup win, with Anthony later in the evening winning Champion Jockey Of The Year.

Captain Of All (bred by Duncan Barry’s Riverton Stud), whose KZN-bred dam by Fard named Serious Side was bred by Robert Smith, had a brilliant evening for his winning connections Klawervlei Stud and KZN’s trainer extraordinaire Dennis Drier. The colt was voted Champion Older Horse, Champion Sprinter and Champion Horse Of The Year.

Dennis and Gill Drier also went on to win Personality Of The Year, with Dennis also being awarded Champion Trainer Of The Year after a brilliant Gr1 winning season.

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners! The full results below.



KwaZulu-Natal Racing Awards – Winners:

Champion Two-Year Old – Male – SEVENTH PLAIN

Champion Two-Year Old – Female – ENTISAAR

Champion Three-Year Old – Male – HARRY’S SON

Champion Three-Year Old – Female – SAME JURISDICTION

Champion Older Horse – Male – CAPTAIN OF ALL

Champion Older Horse – Female – GALLICA ROSE

Champion Sprinter – CAPTAIN OF ALL

Champion Middle Distance – FUTURA

Champion Stayer – WILD ONE

Personality Of The Year – DENNIS & GILL DRIER

Anita Akal Special Award – GRAEME HAWKINS

Champion Apprentice Of The Year – CALLAN MURRAY

Champion Jockey Of The Year – ANTHONY DELPECH

KZNOTA Owner of the Year – ROY MOODLEY

Champion Owner Of The Year – INGRID & MARKUS JOOSTE

Champion Breeder Of The Year – KLAWERVLEI STUD

Champion Trainer Of The Year – DENNIS DRIER

Champion Groom Of The Year – GOODMAN MAKUBALO

Champion Horse Of The Year – CAPTAIN OF ALL

Images and information: Gold Circle

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *