First Entries In For KZN Breeders Million Mile

First Entries In For KZN Breeders Million Mile

The first entries are in for the KZN Breeders Million Mile, the second running of this exclusive race at Greyville on 30 June amongst the seven other races – the KZN Breeders Series over 1200m, 1400m and 1900m for stakes of R200 000 each.

It will be the richest race-day exclusively for horses registered with the KZN Breeders Premium Scheme, totalling a stakes on the day of R2,4 million.

Knock On Wood after his victory in the Million Mile 2012. Image: John Lewis

Bred by George Rowles, Knock On Wood took home the spoils last year from The Mouseketeer.

The field this year once again is an immensely strong one, including this season’s Gr 1 SA Classic winner Love Struck, Gr 3 King’s Cup winner Penhaligon, KRA Gunineas Gr 2 winner Festival Of Fire and sire Mullins Bay represented by Gitiano and the talented Tynchy Stryder.

Not surprisingly eight of the entries are by champion sire Kahal and three by Mogok – including the half-brother to Vodacom Durban July winner Dunford – King Of Torts, and half of the entries bred by 8th season National breeding champions, Summerhill Stud.

Keep a watch on our logs for the KZN Breeders Series races to see which of the almost 400+ KZN-bred horses will find their places in the seven races for R200 000 each.

Entries below:


7 FESTIVAL OF FIRE (3F) 0.0 107 Mike de Kock (Kahal – Mr C J Saunders & Lady C O’Reilly)
20 LOVE STRUCK (3G) 0.0 103 Paul Lafferty (Kahal – Summerhill Stud)
13 CORREDOR (3G) 0.0 100 Garth Puller (Cataloochee – Summerhill Stud)
22 GITIANO (3G) 0.0 98 Alec Laird (Mullins Bay – Valjub Close Corporation)
21 PENHALIGON (4C) 0.0 97 Alyson Wright (Daylami – Yellow Star Stud)
11 BARACAH (4G) 0.0 95 B Sean Tarry (Mogok – Scott Bros)
12 PATRIOTIC REBEL (3G) 0.0 95 Mike de Kock (Kahal – Kinmount Stud)
18 WILD ONE (3G) 0.0 95 B Jeff Freedman (Mogok – Scott Bros)
8 KALAMI (4F) 0.0 94 B Robbie Sage (Daylami – Middlefield Stud)
16 CLASSIC ILLUSION (4F) 0.0 92 B Gary Alexander (Kahal – Summerhill Stud)
10 KING OF TORTS (3G) 0.0 92 Duncan Howells (Mogok – Mr and Mrs Bruce Le Roux)
15 NEGEV (3F) 0.0 89 Louis Goosen (Stronghold – Summerhill Stud)
2 REBEL QUEEN (3F) 0.0 88 Corne Spies (Kahal – Summerhill Stud)
4 SAUCY SAVANNAH (4F) 0.0 87 B Mike de Kock (Kahal – Summerhill Stud)
19 DISTINGUISHED (4G) 0.0 86 Charles Laird (Kahal – Mr G A R Sturlese & Summerhill Stud)
5 TINCHY STRYDER (3F) 0.0 85 Sean Tarry (Mullins Bay – Summerhill Stud)
14 COY BOY (3C) 0.0 81 Des Egdes (Bezrin – Golden Acres)
6 KING NEPTUNE (4G) 0.0 79 Dennis Drier (Cataloochee – Bush Hill Stud)
1 ROMANTIC BALLADEER (3G) 0.0 78 Adam W Kethro (Trippi – Summerhill Stud)
9 LONDON OLYMPICS (3F) 0.0 65 B James Goodman (Solskjaer – Summerhill Stud)
17 COOKIE MONSTER (3G) 0.0 86 B Dennis Drier (Kahal – Summerhill Stud)

Please note:

Supplementary Entries Close @ 11:00 Friday 21 JUNE 2103
Weights Friday 21 JUNE 2013
Declarations Close @ 11:00 Monday 25 JUNE 2013

Thank you to the following farms who have sponsored our KZN Breeders Race Day:

The Fort Stud
Kinmount Stud
Midlands Thoroughbreds
Roski Stud
Middlefield Stud
Backworth Stud
Summerhill Stud
Spring Valley Stud
Irish Flame Syndicate

We hope to see you on Sunday 30th June at Greyville in black and white!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *